Reps. Turner, Kildee & Ryan Demand Answers from Department Heads on Status of Delphi Salaried Retirees Report

Members Request Status Update from Biden Administration on Trump-Era Delphi Report on Delphi Pensions

July 20, 2021

Members Request Status Update from Biden Administration on Trump-Era Delphi Report on Delphi Pensions
Washington, DC – Congressman Mike Turner alongside Reps. Dan Kildee (D-MI) and Tim Ryan (D-OH) acted in a bipartisan manner to help restore the lost pensions of the Delphi Salaried Retirees. The Members requested a status update on a Trump-era Delphi report in a letter to Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen, Labor Secretary Marty Walsh, and Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo.
Last October, Turner and Ryan successfully urged President Trump to sign a presidential memorandum that directed his cabinet to come back within 90 days with recommendations that provide a remedy to restore the Delphi Salaried Retirees’ pensions. 
“As of June 10, 2021, we have not seen this report or have been made aware of its completion. We understand this review was due on January 20, 2021 – before you assumed your current roles. We believe it is important that Congress still have the opportunity to review the recommendations provided by your agencies,” wrote the members.
“Please know that we stand ready to work with you to ensure the Delphi retirees, and all American workers can be secure in the benefits they have earned,” they continued.
“The Delphi Salaried Retirees have been working towards the restoration of our pension plan for 12 years.  We are grateful for the effort and support these representatives and this letter offers in our quest.  Responding to a Presidential Directive should not be taken lightly. It is our hope that the recipients of this letter will do the right thing and respect those who played by the rules only to meet with a horrible injustice,” said Bruce Gump, Chairman of Delphi Salaried Retirees Association.
The letter was also signed by Representatives Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX), Austin Scott (R-GA), Brian Higgins (D-NY), Steve Chabot (R-OH), Chris Jacobs (R-NY), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Elissa Slotkin (D-MI), Joseph D. Morelle (D-NY), Bryan Steil (R-WI), Warren Davidson (R-OH), Bill Huizenga (R-MI), Lisa C. McClain (R-MI), John R. Moolenaar (R-MI), John Katko (R-NY), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Victoria Spartz (R-IN), Debbie Lesko (R-AZ), Jack Bergman (R-MI), Debbie Dingell (D-MI), Salud Carbajal (D-CA), Andy Levin (D-MI), James R. Baird (R-IN), and David Joyce (R-OH).
See the full text of the letter HERE.