WASHINGTON, D.C.—Today, Congressman Mike Turner formally announced the winners of the 2021 Congressional Art Competition. The first-place winner is Abigail Withrow (Grade 9) from Valley View High School; second place is Avalynn Chaney (Grade 12) from Stivers School for the Arts; and in third place is Lillyan Higgins (grade 12) from Stivers School for the Arts.  Honorable mentions include Kori Moore from Brookeville High School, Atlantis Thompson from Stivers School for the Arts, Chelsey Pauley from Brookeville High School, Conor Bullerman from Stivers School for the Arts, Elspeth Moore from Stivers School for the Arts, and Jaya Parker from Stivers School for the Arts.

Congressman Turner and the winning students and their teachers spoke with WHIO’s Jim Otte in an interview that aired Sunday May 16th. Turner stated: 

"What's incredible is that we get to showcase the talent across our region... Many of the works th?at we receive are very complex in their undertaking and in their composition. And so the art students, in addition to just having their innate skill actually get to mature...by having the Dayton art museum involved, they get a recognition of that work."

Following the 2020 competition's cancellation due to COVID, The Dayton Art Institute once again sponsored this annual competition.  The winners will receive scholarship funds, a trip to Washington D.C. and will have their art displayed in the U.S. Capitol, where hundreds of individuals will view their work each day.  This year, more than 100 students participated.