Congressman Mike Turner released the following statement to announce the development of a Citizens’ Commemoration Panel to name the Dayton Federal Building and United States Courthouse. The Panel is tasked with providing Congressman Turner a recommendation to name the federal building.

Congressman Turner will introduce legislation to name the courthouse using the Panel’s recommendation.

“I am grateful to the members of our community who have volunteered to serve on this important panel. The courthouse has served the federal government and the Miami Valley for over forty years and providing it with a formal designation is long past due. I look forward to introducing legislation to honor an individual who has served the Dayton community and the courthouse with the Panel’s recommendation.”

Congressman Turner has appointed Merle F. Wilberding as Chairman of the Citizens’ Panel.

The names of the panelists are as follows:

  • Merle F. Wilberding, Chairman
  • Amanda Wright Lane
  • Charles J. Faruki
  • Idotha “Bootsie” Neal
  • Kermit F. Lowery
  • Honorable Margaret M. Quinn
  • Brady Kress
  • Reverend Wilburt “Bill” Shanklin
  • County Commissioner Deborah A. Lieberman
  • Mayor Mary McDonald