Congressman Turner released the following statement after presenting six Dayton area students with the Congressional Award at his District Office this afternoon. 

“I would like to congratulate these six students on winning the Congressional Award. At a young age all of you have demonstrated a desire to learn, a passion for service and a drive to contribute something to the Dayton Community. I wish you all the best in your future endeavors.”

The Congressional Award is the United States Congress' award for young Americans. It is non-partisan, voluntary, and non-competitive. The program is open to all students between the ages of 14-23 year of age. Participants earn Bronze, Silver and Gold Congressional Award Certificates and Bronze, Silver and Gold Congressional Award Medals. Each level involves setting goals in four program areas; Volunteer Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration.

Congress established the Congressional Award in 1979 to recognize initiative, achievement and service in young people. It began as a bipartisan effort in both the United States Senate and the House of Representatives. Senator Malcolm Wallop of Wyoming and the late Congressman James Howard of New Jersey sponsored the original bill. The enabling legislation (Public Law 96-114) established the Congressional Award as a private-public partnership, which receives all funding from the private sector, and was originally signed into law by President Jimmy Carter. Presidents Ronald Reagan, George Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama have each signed continuing legislation.


 Below is a list of the recipients:

Anukriti Tayal, Bronze Medalist

Centerville, OH

Magsig Middle School


 Dhaivat Pandya, Bronze Medalist

Dayton, OH

Watts Middle School                


Dhira Venkatramani, Bronze Medalist

Xenia, OH

Jacob Coy Middle School


 Rachana Raghupathy, Bronze Medalist

Dayton, OH

Centerville High School


 Sanjana Yerubandi, Silver Medalist

Dayton, OH

Centerville High School


Vidur Prasad, Silver Medalist

Beavercreek, OH

The Dayton Regional STEM School