DAYTON, OHIO – Today, Congressman Mike Turner (OH-10) announced that $2,900,000 in federal funds has been awarded to the James M. Cox Dayton International Airport (DAY) to upgrade its passenger boarding bridges in Concourse B. Dayton International Airport, which is in Turners district, was allocated funds under the Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Fiscal Year 2024 Airport Terminals grant program.

In November 2023, Congressman Turner penned a letter to Acting Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Polly Trottenberg expressing his support for Dayton International Airport’s grant application for the Airport Terminals Program. The funds will go towards improving structural safety, energy efficiency and lighting inside of certain passenger boarding bridges in Concourse B.

“Dayton International is a significant contributor to our local economy, and I am pleased to share that it has received millions in federal funds to renovate its terminal infrastructure,” said Congressman Mike Turner. “These resources from the FAA will make certain that DAY can spearhead the development projects necessary to improve the passenger experience for everyone who travels through Dayton.”

“This is the first phase of a multi-phased endeavor, said Mayor Jeffrey J. Mims, Jr. “The replacement of these bridges will enhance the customer experience, improve sustainability, and energy efficiency. DAY has an ‘Easy to and Through’ reputation. This project builds on that by enhancing the passenger experience, making DAY more attractive to passengers and airlines, while providing increased sustainability and service.”

FY24 Airport Terminals Program Grant Awards:

James M. Cox Dayton International Airport (DAY): $2,900,000


FAA’s Airport Terminals Program (ATP) provides $5 billion in competitive grants for terminal development projects that address the aging air infrastructure at large hub airports (not more than 55 percent of grant funding), medium hub airports (not more than 15 percent), small hub airports (not more than 20 percent), and non-hub or nonprimary airports (not less than 10 percent).